Barbour’s General Store Museum
Originally built in 1860 for use as Bridge’s Store near Fredericton, New Brunswick, it was donated by G.E. Barbour Inc. (local spice merchants) as part of the Centennial project and brought by barge down the St. John River and through Reversing Rapids in 1967. It currently sits near the site where G.E. Barbour Company first started their business in 1867. The museum is filled with merchandise from the Victorian era and houses a combination barbershop/dental office.
Canada Games Aquatic Centre
Saint John’s community pool, offering lap lanes, sauna, steam room, hot tubs and fitness centre as well as special swims for everyone in a fun and safe environment.
50 Union St., Saint John, NB
Tel: (506) 658-4715 | www.aquatics.nb.ca
Cherry Brook Zoo & Vanished Kingdom Park
– is home to many exotic and endangered species including the Siberian Tiger, Snow Leopard, Golden Lion Tamarin and Goeldi monkey. We feature an 18 Hole Tiger Claws Mini Golf course (seasonal-open 7 days a week;10am-7pm) and our gift shop offers truly unique gifts for every age.
901 Foster Thurston Drive, Saint John, NB
Tel: (506) 634-1440
–located in the heart of uptown, the Saint John City Market was built in 1876 and is Canada’s oldest, continuous city market and one of Canada’s National Historic sites. It is open year-round, Monday to Saturday offering a wide selection of goods and services including unique local gift items, international foods, and a specialty wine store. 47 Charlotte Street, Saint John, NB
Tel: (506) 658-2820
– is a series of interconnected walkways with lookouts, interpretative panels that takes you on a leisurely walk from Market Square, wending around Saint John Harbour, past the site of Fort LaTour, under the Harbour Bridge and continues past the HMCS Brunswicker Naval Reserve and to Reversing Falls.
– is a multi-purpose entertainment centre. It is the home of the Sea Dogs Hockey Team and the Saint John Mill Rats Basketball Team. Check out their calendar of events for up-to-date happenings:
99 Station St., Saint John, Tel: (506) 632-6103
– Built in 1913 and fully restored in 1994, the Imperial Theatre offers musical and theatre acts for all to enjoy. Some scheduled events for the summer include Tomato/ Tomato (June 9) and the Legendary Gordon Lightfoot (Aug. 21), and many more. Check out the website for more listings www.imperialtheatre.nb.ca/event-list
Irving Nature Park created by J.D. Irving, Limited
– is a 600 acre park with walking, hiking and driving trails, and boasts one of the New Brunswick’s richest marine ecosystems. Check out the park schedule at www.jdirving.com/jd-irving-sustainability-nature-parks-irving-nature-park-schedule.aspx
Lorenzo Reading Series
UNB Saint John – The Lorenzo Society at UNB Saint John sponsors readings by major Canadian authors. The Reading Series schedule for 2016-2017 can be found at www.unb.ca/saintjohn/arts/lorenzo/readingseries.html
– located across from the City Market, it was once a bog and used as a place where animals were prepared for the market. King’s Square is a place for residents and visitors alike to enjoy the many monuments, immaculate gardens, walkways and bandstand.
The Loyalist House
– is a museum and National Historic Site located in uptown Saint John. Built in 1817, it is one of the few buildings still in existence that survived the Great Fire of 1877.
120 Union Street, Saint John, NB
Music on the Boardwalk
– Season XIV of Saint John Idol takes place at the Boardwalk each Wednesday starting in June with winner being announced in late August. Free Arts & Culture programming each and every day from the Summer Solstice in June until Labour Day in September. Come out and hear the music, relax on the Boardwalk and join in the fun! Check out the calendar of events. Check out the local Events Calendars for Saint John for a listing of all activities planned or call the Hardman Group (506) 658-3600.
New Brunswick Museum Archives & Research Library
– 277 Douglas Avenue houses collections, archives, research library and head office and contains thousands of records for genealogy and historical research.
Tel: (506) 643-2322
Toll Free 1-888-268-9595
New Brunswick Museum Exhibition Centre
– 1 Market Square offers three floors and 60,000 square feet of permanent and temporary exhibition spaces and a wide range of programs and events. Free Days at the museum: 21 June – National Aboriginal Day, 1 July – Canada Day, 1 August – New Brunswick Day, 15 August – Acadian Day. There is also a gift shop full of locally made gift items and books for all ages and interests.
Tel: (506) 643-2300
Toll Free 1-888-268-9595
Old No.2 Engine House Museum
– Built in 1840-41, this engine house remained in use as a fire station until 1948 and is the only stone fire hall in New Brunswick. It is both a museum and an exhibit hall tracing the history of the firefighting in Saint John. It also contains a special exhibit on the Great Fire of 1877.
Open June 20 – August 26. Monday – Friday 9am – 4pm
24 Sydney Street, Saint John, NB
Tel: (506) 633-1840
– can be found four blocks south of King’s Square and is home to a seasonal farmers market. Most of the trees in this square were planted in 1883 by descendants of the original Loyalist settlers.
– in Quispamsis offers a year round, three-lane indoor walking tract (five times around the track = 1km). It also offers year round skating and is available for private bookings along with community-organized programs.
20 Randy Jones Way, Quispamsis, NB | Tel: (506) 848-5900 qplex.quispamsis.ca
– offers lots of activities during the summer months. As part of Stonehammer Geopark, there are unique rock formations, caves and waterfalls to explore along with the over 26 km of trail that is open year round for hiking and cycling. There is also camping, canoeing, kayaking and fishing, as well as horseback riding and climbing. Lily’s Lakeside Casual Dining is open year round for your dining pleasure.
Tel: (506) 658-2883.
Saint John Free Public Library
– Market Square offers wheelchair access to all areas and free computer access for visitors (booking is required). There are extensive genealogy resources, current magazines to browse and many current newspapers from New Brunswick and elsewhere. Main Branch open 7 days a week Tel: (506) 643-7260. There is also West Branch Library Tel: (506) 643-7260, East Branch Library Tel: (506) 643-7250, Kennebecasis Public Library Tel: (506) 849-5314 and Bibliothèque le Cormoran Tel: (506) 658-4610.
Saint John Millrats
– are a professional basketball team and part of the National Basketball League of Canada. They are entering their seventh year of professional basketball and the fourth year in Saint John. All home games are played at Harbour Station. For a complete schedule check out www.millratsbasketball.ca.
Saint John Sea Dogs
– are part of the Maritimes Division of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and play at Harbour Station. Their first regular season game starts in September;
check out www.saintjohnseadogs.com for their complete schedule.
– means “the beautiful river” in the Maliseet language, a First Nations people who today still make their home along the beautiful Saint John River in the mid to upper western regions of the province. The park offers parking, picnic tables and boasts one of the best views of the Reversing Rapids, the inner part of Saint John Harbour and the Saint John City skyline. There are various interpretation stops within the park where you can learn about the area’s history. 228 Lancaster Ave. Saint John, NB
– offers a no contract membership with unlimited access to their fitness centre, pools and gym. There are also drop-in programs and group fitness classes at no additional cost, as well as a walking and running track. Membership at your local YMCA is accepted at YMCAs across Canada. 191 Churchill Blvd., Saint John, NB
Tel: (506) 693-9622 | www.saintjohny.com