Sea Dogs to Defend League Title

The Saint John Sea Dogs are set to defend their QMJHL league championship in the 2012-2013 season.

Key players of past championship teams such as Ryan Tesink and Aidan Kelly are back while a few others who saw limited roles last year such as Oliver Cooper, Sebastien Auger and Devon Oliver-Dares will be carrying bigger responsibility with a younger team this season.

Some of the young guns may be the ones to watch. The team’s top five selections in the 2012 QMJHL entry draft made the Sea Dogs roster in September. Watch for output from the likes of Marcus Cuomo and Fredericton native Spencer Smallman among other new faces.

Behind the bench, the Sea Dogs announced in the summer that former director of hockey operations and assistant coach Mike Kelly will take the reigns as head coach and general manager, taking over from Gerard Gallant who made the jump to the Montreal Canadiens as an assistant coach for the upcoming season.

The Sea Dogs won the QMJHL championship and the MasterCard Memorial Cup championship in the 2010-2011 season and followed that with another league championship in 2011-2012, but fell short of the big prize in the 2012 Memorial Cup, which was won by the host Shawinigan Cataractes.

See www.saintjohnseadogs.com for more information.

Leave a Reply

4 + = 9